style profile: kristin cavallari

Although I am inherently creative, many of the spaces and objects that inspire me belong to other people.  Learning and growing as a designer, homemaker and artisan is heavily reliant on borrowing ideas, they are the foundation of our own personal style.  They make up the bits and pieces we conspire to put together, in our own unique way.  Perhaps that is why my style is so eclectic, I can appreciate almost any aesthetic.  Whether its country, beach, vintage, modern, rustic or industrial, I can find something I love in just about any setting.

For my first style file, I thought I would take a little celebrity inspiration from an unexpected source.  While perusing one of my favorite blogs, ShelterPop, I found myself looking for bedroom inspiration while still completing elements of my own.  Although I can appreciate the more extremist design perspective of many characters in Hollywood, it is rare I can find myself in as much sync as I did with this room.  Never in my wildest thoughts would I have guessed this adorable quirky laid-back house belonged to Orange County Heartbreaker Kristin Cavallari.  But all differences in character aside, I am ready to become her new BFF and move in to her fabulous West Hollywood home.



The $1.3 million, ivy covered, 1,400 square foot house includes two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a state of the art kitchen, a lush courtyard and a wood burning fireplace.  Gates and high hedges surround the property and hide a lush tropical garden.  The front door opens directly into the small living room that has some of its original detailing like coved ceilings, dark stained hardwood flooring and arched windows and doorways.


Although the skinny lil thing probably doesn’t eat, let alone cook, her kitchen would give any top chef a hard-on.  ShelterPop reports that the magnificent kitchen has “original hardwood floors, Carrara marble countertops, glass-fronted upper cabinets, a large work island/breakfast bar and a vintage O’Keefe & Merritt stove.”  The bright white tiles and stainless steel appliances are chic and clean to the eye.  It is warm, inviting, and opens up to a beautiful Spanish style outdoor patio, the perfect place to entertain.

The master bedroom is tucked away in the back to protect the reality star’s privacy, and has large wood framed sliding glass doors that open up into the lush jungle of the back yard.


The masculine colors and feminine touches create the perfect balance in this LA home, and I have to say they earn Kristin a few extra points in my book.  Albeit her scandalous ways, this life is exactly what I dream of for myself.  Something warm, tropical and eclectic with a dash of both modern and traditional.  The elements Cavallari achieves in her home are a reflection of a creative, young social butterfly ready to get back on the single scene.  I am sure that after her recent break up with ex-fiance NFL quarterback Jay Cutler, she will be relieved to come home to this cozy little bachelorette pad for some much needed personal time.

One thought on “style profile: kristin cavallari

  1. Pingback: cali swag | Where We Love Is Home

Leave a Reply

