a secret garden in san diego

I am so lucky to be able to live in the city I grew up in and be able to discover new things and places regularly.  My good friend invited me over for brunch with some friends visiting town and was pleasantly surprised by the lush surroundings of her home tucked away in Bird Rock.  I could never figure out why I hadn’t gone past the hedged walls out front before, but once I entered through the old rusty garden gate, I felt as if I was in a fairytale dream.  And if the outside wasn’t enough of a home body’s dream, the kitchen was straight out of Better Homes & Garden’s complete with stone basin sink, state of the art appliances, a cast iron skillet with bacon frying in brown sugar and a delicious platter of sugar coated brioche french toasts.  The front entry way and living area were filled with cozy seating areas comprised of Persian rugs, distressed linens and epic flea market finds.

Leave a Reply

