papa’s garden

I am always looking for new hobbies, as I get bored easily.  With dad seeing success in his summer vegetable garden, and my love of flowers, I have long been contemplating getting involved with a new outdoor activity.  Not too long ago, I stumbled upon on article on planting and keeping succulents, which I found extremely eye catching.  Let me explain…

When I was a little girl and we still lived in Beverly Hills, my parents always took me to my Nonny and Papa’s house because when grandparents are local, what choice does one have?  I frequented swimming in the pool, blowing bubbles in the grass, and cruising through the grove with my Grandpa to admire his blossoming orchard and large cactus collection.  Over the years, my Papa had a variety of hobbies including training carrier pigeons, collecting birdhouses, and grooming his cactus garden – which soon became paramount to his various outdoor activities.

Throughout the course of my childhood, my Papa collected many succulents, ranging from tall pear and flower blooming cacti to low beds of aloe vera plants laden with lizards.  He had a habit of personifying his plants, giving them various accessories to accentuate their respective personalities.  The tall furry looking ones donned thin old bi-focals, while the short stout one’s rocked fishing hats and Raybans.  The older looking cacti wore blue blocker’s like Papa, and the flowering one’s were planted in vintage decorative pots on pedestals around the perimeter of the grove.  Succulents, considered a boring garden resident to some, have always been a wonderous species in my memory bank.  Up until the day he passed away, my Papa grew his collections to eventually include HUNDREDS of succulents, including a small garden just for me.

Although the garden he groomed before his passing still stands, it is rugged and dying in my grandparents grove, with no chief attendant to watch over the plants.  I don’t think it would be far fetched for me to start my own little mini garden of succulents not only to give myself an escape from day to day work and responsibility, but also to honor my Papa and the green thumb he passed down to me.  With my grandfathers wisdom always in my heart and mind, I decided the timing was right to start my own succulent collection, starting with baby steps.  

A couple weeks ago, I visited the local nursery a couple weeks ago with my Dad and picked out a few mini succulents to plant.  I picked up a couple small and medium ceramic pots from the nursery and Anthropologie and some extra soil from my Dad’s shed, and a pair of gloves from Home Depot.  

You’ll Love Succulents If: You’re a lazy gardener. These plants are hardy and durable. They don’t require a large space to grow, so they’re great for container gardens and hanging baskets. Plus, their roots are shallow so little soil or potting mix is required for planting or transplanting making them easy for children and beginning gardeners to care for.

My babies!

A lovely morning to plant a garden

What You Will Need: Pots, gloves, small spade

Aerial shot of my first pot

The final product!

One thought on “papa’s garden

Leave a Reply

