marvelous chocolate chip cookies

baking

There is no better way to treat a sweet tooth than with a perfect chocolate chip cookie. Chocolate chip cookies are across the board the best cookie, and some would even argue the best dessert. I like all types of chocolate chip cookies…. soft gooey Chips Ahoy, a thin crispy artisan cookie, even the NEstle tubes in the grocery store fridge will do the trick. But when I make chocolate chip cookies, I try to work in a little bit of every type. The perfect combination of crispy, soft, warm, cooled, chip to cookie ratio.

Ever since I started baking with my mom in the kitchen, I have been on a quest for the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe. Although I am pretty tolerant of all chocolate chip cookies, I take a lot of pride in my baking and only like t present the best. As many of you know, I spent a lot of the last year trying out recipes from many cookbooks, including the Magnolia Bakery Cookbook. I am usually a religious follower of their infamous cupcakes, so I was interested in seeing how the cookies fared. When I made my first batch of their chocolate chip recipe, I was pleasantly surprised. They were easy and quick enough to make that I will never by store bought again, and they were so delicious fresh out of the over that I will need to double the recipe next time. At the bakery, they like to add a cup of chopped walnuts or pecans or substitute the plain chocolate chips with vanilla chips are chopped candy bars.

My CCC Rating: 7/10

INGREDIENTS

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2/3 cups softened unsalted butter

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl (grab two, you will need another shortly), combine the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In your other large bowl, cream the butter with the sugars til smooth, a few mins. Add the egg and vanilla and mix well. Add the flour mixture from your other bowl and beat til thoroughly mixed. Stir in the chips, and add a couple more 😉

Use a teaspoon or small spoon to drops rounded balls onto ungreased cookie sheets, leaving a couple inches for expansion in between. Bake for 10-12 minutes til lightly golden brown. Cool for one minute on sheets, then move to cooling rack til they reach room temperature.

Serve on a platter with large glasses of milk!

Ingredients

Mixing

my faithful sidekick in the kitchen

scooping

end result

Leave a Reply

