Desert Sunshine

Ever since I was a child riding my bike through my grandpa’s cactus collection, I have been fascinated with desert plants. Formally known as succulents, these cactus and aloe varieties are low maintenance, trendy alternatives to your standard floral arrangement. Last summer, I took my first stab at planting succulents, and I was itching to put some Pinterest inspiration to work.

I have been waiting to get my hands in the dirt for quite a while, so I decided to make some succulents as Mother’s Day Gifts. The weather had finally brightened up, so I spent a couple days in the backyard listening to some tunes, drinking coffee, making potted presents and working on my tan.

SUPPLIES

Desert plant soil (a much drier variety for these water storing plants)

Bags of moss (Michael’s has more variety but Home Depot has the real deal)

Polished river rocks (I chose the second smallest size)

Small succulents (I made 100 of these little guys so I bought them by the palette)

Small terra cotta pots or glass orbs (also used a Romanesque goblet, an old tea kettle)

Outdoor working area

Bucket for compost

Spade and gloves

iPad for tunes

home depot

home depot

bright ceramic

bright ceramic

terra cotta pots

terra cotta pots

locked and loaded

locked and loaded

DIRECTIONS

Pre-game: this can be a messy process, so lay down your rubber mats or borrow a friends truck. Most of these things can be found at Home Depot, but Michael’s has great craft supplies and I find they have cheaper containers. Big thanks to Breeana for helping me with this ontaking!!

Step one: get your work station ready and lay out all your supplies

supplies!

supplies!

little babies

little babies

supplies 2

saturday at the office

saturday at the office

Step two: make sure all your pots/orbs are clean and undamaged, remove any price stickers before it becomes a pain

line em up!

line em up!

Step three: layer the bottom of your container with a small handful of river rocks on top of a little nest of moss. This will help with air and water filtration.

drainage support

drainage support

Step four: fill container 3/4 full with desert soil.

Step five: remove succulents from store bought plastic container and transfer to prepped container (do this over compost bowl to catch any stray roots or soil). Fill remaining nooks and crannies with desert soil until top of dirt is packed and even.

Step six: rip off some moss and use it to pad the dirt surface. be thorough! don’t want any lame dirt spots peeking through.

almost done!

Step seven: add a few river rocks to the mossy surface and voila! Your creation is complete 🙂

ring of fire

ring of fire

all these babies require is watering once a week or less, and some good ol vitamin D

all these babies require is watering once a week or less, and some good ol vitamin D

orb

a succulent terrarium

romanesque

Leave a Reply

