gather round

In our house, the dinner table was where all the action happened. It’s where we got to be inspired by generations of passed down recipes and talk about and reflect on our day to day life. Memories of my kitchen tables growing up, between our house and my grandparents house, were classic with a hint of country. Blue danube dinnerwear, pitchers of sweet tea, cake stands filled with sweets were all landmarks on the table.

Of course the dinner table holds many fond memories such as relationship advice from your parents, bragging of scholastic achievements, big time family decisions, but the glamour of the dinner table has faded in modern times. With technological advancement comes lethargy, and as a result, many kids, teens, and young adults are spending increasing amounts of their eating time on the couch or in front of the TV. Stylelist Home, who recently published an article on the unusual ways in which keeping a tidy home can improve your quality of life, suggest, “eating away from distractions, like the TV and computer [because it] will help you eat less”. On average, people consume 288 more calories in front of the TV, according to Health. There are many additional benefits to eating at the table including teaching manners, encouraging speedy cleanups, easier portion control, a break from the noise of life, and so on…

I myself have noticed my time at the dining table has diminished greatly in the last year or so. Therefore, I am committed to eating my meals at home at my dinner table. Since I graduated, and have started to build my own home [with my two lovely roommates of course], I have adapted a combination of my southern roots along with my california coastal surroundings. I am inspired everyday by food, flowers, places, beaches, and I like to include elements of this throughout my kitchen. My dining room will come together with time, but I have already started window shopping at a few stores, namely Anthropologie [I know you wish you could plaster your house in their baubles too].

dashed azure tabled cloth

dashed azure tabled cloth

piecrust dinner plates

piecrust dinner plates

atom art serving bowls

atom art serving bowls

rediscovered flatware

rediscovered flatware

soda lime tumbler

soda lime tumbler

milk glass pitcher

milk glass pitcher

 sierra platter

sierra platter

diamond jute hurricane

diamond jute hurricane

One thought on “gather round

  1. Pingback: tis the season for giving | Where We Love Is Home

Leave a Reply

