at home how to: ridding your car of stink

Recently, for work I had to fulfill the daunting task of transporting 300 small boxes (fancy invitations for our upcoming restaurant opening party) to the post office in my car. Albeit chic, the mass quantity of these little treasures left an overwhelming stench of cardboard in my car. I don’t really like the overpowering smell of the car wash air fresheners, so I sought out a natural alternative to help rid my car of the lingering smells of kraft materials.

Much to my surprise, I discovered that a great deodorizer for the car is basil! By laying down a fresh sprig of the sweet garden herb on a piece of newspaper in the back seat of your car, it will absorb the funky smells while it dries out. This is a great trick not only for temporary incidents like my own, but for more long term behavior like sports addicts, pet owners, and smokers.

basil for deodorizing

Leave a Reply

