how to: revive a stale baguette

Bonjour mon amies!

There is rarely anything that is more delicious than a hot baguette, fresh out of the oven. Although I try to avoid most breads, I have been a sucker for this delicacy since my younger years working at a french bakery, where I would get to enjoy as much baguette as my little heart desired. Baguette is also a great thing to have on hand in the kitchen. I usually buy them when I want to make bruschetta, french toast, or a little Parisian sandwich for lunch on the weekends. But sometimes I get this weird post-purchase anxiety of needing to make all baguette-friendly recipes so as not to waste a crumb before it goes stale [which almost always happens]. Then I find myself stressing about the amount of bread I will be consuming in such a short period of time.

That inner battle between my love of hot, crusty bread and my distaste for the affect carbs have on my ass can now end! I have found a very easy trick to reviving your baguette after it has gone stale. This not only prevents further saddening baguette waste, but also prolongs each loaf’s life. Let me teach you my little Skywalker’s…

Step 1. Enjoy as much of your baguette within the first 24 hours as possible. When you store whatever is left, don’t go plastic, it softens the crust [boo!]. Just fold over the paper bag it came in to prevent excess air from getting in.

Step 2. When you are ready for some more, soak a paper towel and rub down your baguette. Massage it a little to make sure the water absorbs into the pores of the bread.

Step 3. You can go one of two ways with re-heating your baguette. You can either pop it in the microwave for 30 – 60 seconds, or toss it into the over at 300 degrees for 3 – 5 minutes.

There, now you have yourself some delicious, crusty on the outside, soft on the inside, fresh-out-of-the-oven baguette to enjoy! Bon appetite  🙂

before: stale baguette

before: stale baguette

after: voila! hot & fresh

after: voila! hot & fresh

Leave a Reply

