quick & easy snacks for the fit & fancy gal

Snacking. An all time past time. Who can forget the epic moments following a soccer game where you filled your arms with granola bars, orange slices and Caprisun’s? Or your favorite after school snack? Mine evolved from cereal and milk to pretzels and cream cheese, something I still enjoy on my cheat day. Or how about your favorite baked goodie pristinely placed on the cake stand just waiting for you to get home. Food is so nostalgic for me, but long gone are the days where I could afford to enjoy bottomless Gushers, long sleeves of Ritz crackers with some sort of artificial cheese, or my mom’s home cooked double fudge brownies. How I long for those brownies…

As I digress…

Now that I have gotten my fitness and wellness routine on lock – daily sweats, a nice lineup of vitamins, hydration on point – I have to be mindful of the snacks I keep in my home so as not to engorge an entire bag of chips and salsa. The trick to not eating shit is not buying it. I now – sadly – skip the chips aisle at Trader Joe’s, in lieu of better choices like cottage cheese, fresh fruit and Luna bars. I am always on the hunt for something new that will fit my healthy-meets-happy mentality. I have a few I am still waiting to try out, but below are a couple new diddys that I am obsessed with at the moment:

Homemade Guac

all time fave guac: 2 avocados, 1/2 red onion, 1 tbsp olive oil mayo, lemon pepper and sea salt to taste, hot sauce as desired. YUM!

Brookside Dark Chocolate Acai w/ Blueberry

These are the perfect snack to satisfy my sweet tooth mid-afternoon

Justin's All Natural Butter's

I keep these little guys in my purse to accompany my daily dose of fruit.

Leave a Reply

