be prepared! saving time and maximizing your buck at the grocery store

When it comes to my kitchen, I can be a bit of a nazi perfectionist. Not sure if it is my obsession with visual organization or the traumatizing days spent as an office manager that constantly discovered new species of mold in the fridge, but I like to run a tight ship at home. One of my BIGGEST pet peeves is wasted perishables. I am a baller on a budget, therefore I have to very tightly budget my expenses to make my dollars stretch.

Unfortunately, I have a hard time cooking for one. I come from a long lineage of Southern cooks on my mother’s side, so I was always been taught to cook for the masses. From the other side of my family, however – the Jewish side – I have always been taught to “waste not, want not”, control those portions and don’t waste perfectly good food while there are starving children all over the world. Finding a balance between these two opposing mantras has certainly been a challenge, but I have finally found a way to shop smart, and cook smarter.

Two words = Prep Day.

Prep Day Inspiration from @ovojonnyroxx

Prep Day Inspiration from @ovojonnyroxx

My Sunday’s have now transformed from days wasted with hangover’s and SVU marathons to my get-shit-done day. Starting off with a walk or run to get my juices flowing, I come home to make a big breakfast with whatever items I have readily available. While cooking, I mentally take inventory of what’s in my fridge/pantry and begin formulating a grocery list around what I have to make use of everything I have before wasting anything. I will usually pick out one option for each meal [breaky, lunch, din] and mix and match as I feel like it. On the side, I also like to fill my grocery basket with fresh fruit and greens because when in doubt, eat raw & organic! Filling your pantry with snacks and shit is a sure fire way to consume extra calories, so I try to keep better options around to force myself to eat clean. Below are some recent examples of what I have been enjoying throughout the week. I like to mix it up, so I will update y’all on more of my prep days! Soon to come… macadamia crusted salmon, green smoothies, healthy pita pockets & more!

Breakfast: Papaya, honey, ricotta cheese and flax seeds

Breakfast: Papaya, honey, ricotta cheese and flax seeds

Lunch: variety of veggies! Perfect for curdite spreads, salads, or a healthy vegetarian wrap

Lunch: variety of veggies! Perfect for curdite spreads, salads, or a healthy vegetarian wrap

Dinner: Grilled Mahi Mahi with onions and peppers

Dinner: Grilled Mahi Mahi with onions and peppers, great in tacos or with super sides like black beans, quinoa & avocado

Stock up with Suja, a perfect meal replacement or addition

Stock up with Suja, a perfect meal replacement or addition

Leave a Reply

