Find the silver lining, it could save your life

smile = happiness

I have always been a very outspoken realist. But about a year ago, my brutally honest and sometimes cynical tendencies began to wear on me, and I decided to make a major change in my life. I really admired the concept of positive thinking and decided to fully integrate it into my everyday life. Although it was a real challenge, it has made such an huge impact on my life, that I feel like a completely different person. So when I got monthly newsletter from my insurance carrier – which discusses the health benefits associated with positive thinking – I knew I hadn’t just bought into some BS miserable people say to make themselves feel better. This whole positive thinking thing was the real deal.

Being somewhat of a hybrid between a realist and an optimist is probably the best combo I could have hoped for for myself. Instead of just expecting the best and hoping that things will go well, I take a step back to gain some “big picture” perspective to better make decisions that will get me closer to the end result I desire. How?

  • Decide what is realistic to expect.
  • Decide what you can do to make things go as well as possible.
  • Choose to focus on the positives, and on your strengths, as you go forward.

It’s easier to think “big picture” when you think positive. If you reflect each day on your accomplishments, what you are most grateful for, and ways you can improve, you will always be striving forward and growing, maturing, gaining knowledge and experience.

The ability to express gratitude in any situation shows resilience, strength, poise and control. It is also kind, respectful and humble. All of these are qualities most of us seek in ourselves and others, and it’s as easy to obtain as counting your blessings. When you start seeking those silver linings, that’s when you begin to get stronger, open your heart, and find happiness.

Another huge benefit of thinking positive is self empowerment. Seriously, no one is going to help you build your own self-esteem, so always remember to remind yourself how amazing you really are. By telling yourself more encouraging things, you’re telling your brain to produce chemicals that can:

  • Lower your blood pressure.
  • Reduce your risk for heart disease.
  • Make your immune system stronger so you can resist infection and disease.
  • Lower your stress level and make you feel less anxious.
  • Help you avoid stomach problems, insomnia, and back pain.
  • Make you feel happier and more optimistic about the future.

Clearly what we have going on in our heads has a clear effect on what goes on in our bodies. So why waste more time not thinking positive when you can simply create a better path for yourself and take it where you want to go? Don’t. I am telling you, the changes you will see in yourself and the people you attract will be astounding. So, next time you’re down in the dumps or complaining about your car trouble, or the commute to your salaried job in an air conditioned office, or beating yourself up over chipped nail polish, remember it takes twice as many muscles to frown as it does to smile 🙂

Think Positive

happy thoughts

Leave a Reply

