Prep Day: Macadamia Crusted Salmon, Grilled Bok Choy, Coconut Rice & More!

Prep DayAs I continue on the path of finding balance in my life, Spring has really thrown me for a spin. Wedding season is upon us, the weather is great so I am spending a lot more time outside, and we have a new restaurant opening in just a few weeks, all making my schedule pretty crazy. Luckily, my prep day ritual has stood the test of time (with the exception of a few weekends I spent partying away from home) and I am back at it with more ready-made meals for the weeks when I have no time to cook after all my hours at the office/meetings/events/workout’s.

This week, I made some fresh and easy breakfast’s and lunches so that come dinner time, I could indulge in a few more calories following my workout’s. I set out to Trader Joe’s with a vague idea of what I was looking for, and left with a menu designed to provide me some much needed vitamins and minerals.

Breakfast:

Sliced strawberries & banana

Flaxseed Oatmeal w/ apples & cinnamon

Snack:

Trailmix

SUJA Juices (Lately, I am hooked on Green Machine and Lemon Love)

Lunch:

Kale Salad w/ TJ’s Healthy 8 Chopped Veggie Mix & Fat Free Balsamic Vinaigrette

Dinner:

Macadamia Nut crusted salmon w/ coconut jasmine rice + grilled bok choy

The only meal prep I had to do for this – aside from slicing produce, one of my favorite things to do, oddly enough – was for dinner. All of the components of this dish were SUPER easy. Start with the rice, since it takes the longest. Simply cook jasmine rice in a rice cooker as normal, but exchange the water for coconut milk (optional: add shredded coconut). Once you have that cooking, you will want to create your crusting mixture. I used 1/3 cup each: crushed macadmia nuts, breadcrumbs and panko crumbs. I added some basil and lemon to give it a fresh taste, and mixed it with some melted butter to give it sticking power. After coating your fish, simply cook at 375 for about 15 minutes or until it looks to your liking, and serve over rice. As an easy Asian inspired side, I grilled up some bok choy with a little chicken broth and soy sauce. Complimented the sweet flavors of coconut and mac nuts perfectly!

2 thoughts on “Prep Day: Macadamia Crusted Salmon, Grilled Bok Choy, Coconut Rice & More!

Leave a Reply

