Salad in a Jar: Chinese Chicken Salad courtesy of WeekNight Bite!

The best part about the blogging community – in my opinion – is the support all of us give to one another. My blog encompasses a lot of different topics… home cooking, dining out, lifestyle, fashion, design, self-improvement, travel, the list goes on and on. It isn’t always easy coming up with fresh content day after day, but luckily I have a nice list of blogs I like to support and be inspired by. One case is Weeknight Bite, a great (& very helpful) food blog created by my childhood friend Lindsay. She started her blog earlier this year to share her quick, healthy tips in the kitchen at home, and I always like to see what she has cookin’.

I have tried a few of her yummy lighter recipes before, but was in desperate need of a new salad for my jar obsession. I had a ton of chicken and oranges I had gotten at the store while they were on sale, so this recipe was perfect to use both. This recipe was so so easy to make (literally just mix the ingredients below), and gave me a chance to buy some of those odd oils that I always wish I had on hand. This was a great lunch to pack for work, escpecially as I was slimming down for wedding season. To see some of the nutritional benefits, check out her site!

Ingredients

2 cups cole slaw mix (or shredded green cabbage
with shredded carrots)
1/2 cup edamame beans
3/4 cup sugar snap peas – cut in half
2 tbsp slivered almonds
1/4 cup green onions – chopped
1 cooked chicken breast – sliced
1 orange – segmented
1 tsp sesame seeds
Salt & pepper
Optional: crispy wontons & avocado

Dressing
1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil
1/2 tsp rice vinegar
1 squeeze of lime juice
1/2 tbsp honey
Salt & pepper to taste

green onions

shredded cabbage and carrots

ingredients

asian chicken salad

Salad Jar: Chinese Chicken Salad

One thought on “Salad in a Jar: Chinese Chicken Salad courtesy of WeekNight Bite!

  1. Love this Casey! Thanks so much for featuring my recipe, and I’m so so happy that you have been enjoying some of the light and healthy meal ideas. LOVE your site as well, and I’m going to start mixing up my salads in a big mason jar like you did- perfect for storing and looks lovely! xoxo

Leave a Reply

