Peanut Butter Jelly Time!

Man I wish I was as creative in the kitchen when I was a kid as I am now… I guess finger paintings, diorama’s and sidewalk chalk were more appealing to me then. Now that I am all grown up, playing with my food is more my cup of tea.

As of late, I have had a serious obsessive craving for PB&J sandwiches. For breakfast, lunch, dinner, midnight snack, you name it. Even though I have mastered the art of the skinny PB&J [Ezekiel bread, organic nut butter, and berry preserves – with the crust cut off!], I just can’t get enough. And I also feel terrible when I consume to much bread, so it was time to start experimenting.

I found this rad BuzzFeed article that showcases all different forms of PB&J, and I was instantly inspired! There are definitely a few recipes that air on the creepier side [see PB&J Flautas, PB&J Bacon Sriracha Burger, PB&J Alligator Tofu – WTF?!], but there are a lot of great ones too. Anything frozen, baked or blended with PB&J gets an A+ in my book!

This morning, I decided to make myself a little PB&J Oatmeal to kick my day off. Bet this would be BOMB with a big glass of Vanilla Cloud… yum!!

PB&J Oatmeal

PB&J Oatmeal

Instant Flaxseed Oatmeal (Trader Joe’s)

1/2 cup water

1 tablespoon organic smooth unsalted peanut butter (Trader Joe’s)

4 small organic strawberries, sliced

*Make oatmeal as directed in microwave with water. Before cooling, add peanut butter and stir in thoroughly. Once cooled, stir in sliced strawberries. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

