Bake away the Monday Blues

Typically, I really try to avoid buying sweets at the store. No cookies, candy or ice cream in my cart. But sometimes, my sweet tooth is so strong I just can’t resist the urge to treat myself to some dessert. The other night, I was craving chocolate like fein and mustered up the energy to bake myself a little treat. I was on the hunt for a recipe that was quick, easy, did not require any odd ingredients I didn’t have handy, and of course filled with chocolatey goodness.

My usual go to is chocolate chip cookies, but that didn’t sound quite right this time. Instead, I found this simple brownie recipe that made a small batch of rich, decadent flavor and literally took like 10 minutes to put together. I highly suggest serving with a big glass of cold milk and following up with a light run the next day!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 cup white sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup chopped walnuts, chocolate chips, or any other addition your heart desires

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 9×9 baking pan. In a medium bowl, mix together oil, sugar and vanilla. Beat in eggs one at a time. In a separate bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt; slowly add and stir dry ingredients into the egg mixture until well blended. Stir in additional toppings if desired. Spread batter evenly into greased pan and bake for 20 – 25 minutes (mine took a bit longer). To test, insert a clean utensil until it comes out clean. Let cool on a cooling rack before cutting into squares.

Enjoy!

xx

DSC_0724[2]

DSC_0727[2]

Leave a Reply

