Homemade Hummus

Hummus has got to be one of the world’s greatest snacks. Gluten free, low in fat, good on just about anything, and easy to make at home. I used to buy Trader Joe’s Mediterranean Hummus (still my store bought fave) or splurge on the 3 for $10 deal at the Farmer’s Market, but after investing in a food processor on my most recent Walmart outing, I have decided to make my own from here on out. When I was in Israel, I noticed that the homemade variety was far superior to any store bought I had ever tried, so I decided to give it a go last weekend. I made one plain batch, and one with some spicy Roma Tomato Basiltops Pesto mixed in, and both were gone within an hour. The base recipe I used was courtesy of Google, and was the perfect size for my little food processor. All you gotta do is throw in the ingredients, and process until you reach your desired texture. Note: homemade hummus tends to be a bit thicker than the kind from the store, but is soooo much tastier!

Ingredients:

  • 1 16 oz. can of chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup of liquid from the can
  • 3 – 5 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. tahini
  • 2 minced cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • + 3 – 5 fresh basil leaves chopped
  • + 2 – 3 tbsp. Roma Basiltops Pesto, or any other pesto, herbs or roasted veggie

** Best served with pita chips, warm pita bread, carrots (fave), salami, on a bagel, the options are endless! Enjoy 🙂

Homemade Hummus Before

Homemade Hummus Before

Homemade Hummus After

Homemade Hummus After

One thought on “Homemade Hummus

Leave a Reply

