a shameless plug after a short hiatus

After some delay in posts this past week, I am happy to share what I have been working on all week. I have a trip coming up this weekend, so I wanted to be sure that I had all my ducks in a row before taking off for my San Fran getaway. It has been a long time coming, but really excited that my hard work is starting to manifest into real, and awesome, results!

First, I would like to share the annual fundraiser I organize every fall. This will be the second year running of Rachel’s Brunch, and I am more excited this year than I was the last. We have booked Tristan Prettyman to perform at this beautiful hill top estate that overlooks the ocean, whose deep roots in San Diego and its philanthropic community seem to be the perfect fit for this worthy cause. All proceeds from this event benefit Rachel’s Women’s Shelter, located downtown here in San Diego. Last year, I had the chance to tour the facilities and meet and photograph the women that live on our streets, and they are just wonderful people to get to know. The services this program offers homeless women are empowering, allowing them to take control of their lives and develop the skills they need to be functioning members of society. Last year at the first ever Rachel’s Brunch, we raised over $500k for the shelter, which helped purchase more supplies for the women and even open up a couple more beds in the night shelter. For tickets to the event or donation for Rachel’s, please head here!

Rachel's Brunch 2013

Rachel’s Brunch 2013

Secondly, I have been tenaciously working on getting my photography business in order so that I can take on new clients and begin my career as an artist. This seems fairly doable, considering it’s just photography, right? Not the case. I have been building my website, and branding my business, for over a year now and I finally have my site where I want it to be. I recently had some of my photos picked up by a few local publications, and have also just been offered to shoot for the next edition of another local magazine this month. It is so nice to finally see some results coming from the countless late nights I have stayed up working on my little project and I couldn’t be more excited for what’s to come! Please take a moment to visit my little creation of a site, and feel free to contact me (or pass along my info) for any of your photo needs.

The New & Imrpoved Casey Blatt Photo

The New & Imrpoved Casey Blatt Photo

Next on the list is writing some travel pieces on some of my more recent excursions to officially become a published author. But that is going to have to wait until my adventure this weekend has come and gone!

Leave a Reply

