friday vibes

While looking for a mid-week pick me up, I stumbled across this quote that caught my attention. Isn’t it funny how, when we are tired and unmotivated and feel as though we need it most, inspiration is nowhere to be found? Fortunately, our good ol friend Pablo Picasso knew what was up. The definition itself is a big clue as to where inspiration comes from:

inspired (adj) : of extraordinary quality, as if arising from some external creative impulse.

If the origin of inspiration is external, then isn’t it up to us to go out into the world and discover it? Without staying busy working towards the goal of finding such a reward, of course we are left in the dark, inspiration-less. It is for this reason, that those who constantly endure the tedious nature of long work hours are the ones who find the most success.

I work from 8 – 5 in an office, which I spend an hour and a half in the car getting to and from. At the end of it all, I am exhausted, uninspired and the LAST thing I want to do is work on my growing photography business. Then after a week of neglecting to make any progress, I wonder to myself, “Why hasn’t my business gotten off the ground yet?”

The answer is that I am expecting results without doing the work. Without the means, there is no end. So I had to rethink how I was going to use my time to get to that carrot at the end of the rope.

An office job and an artist job are inherently different. One is quantitative, the other qualitative. So after I have been using my left brain for 9 hours with little to no breaks, I sometimes have to remember that the 5 waking hours left in my day need not be spent staring at a computer screen and making spreadsheets in order to get my carrot.

Once I had this realization, and I approached my work in a more untraditional way, I found that the extra “work” I was putting in was actually enjoyable and I even starting seeing the results I have been hoping and praying for. Inspiration is what fuels our passion, and without it, the fire would just burn out. So don’t deprive yourself of your dreams, just keep working and you will find the inspiration you need to achieve the success you deserve.

Happy Friday!

xx

Inspiration

Leave a Reply

