friday vibes

Labor Day, the first Monday in September, was created by the labor movement to pay tribute to the contributions those in the work force have made to the strength, prosperity and well-being of our country. It is meant to be a day for all working individuals to take a day to reflect on their social & economic achievements and their impact on the success of the United States.

Although I have mixed feelings about the moral code the U.S. is currently operating under, I like to take Labor Day with a grain of salt. Because most of my waking hours are spent working – whether it’s for my employer, or on starting my own company – I like to take Labor Day as a time to recharge, recenter my energy and focus on improving myself for the remainder of the busy year. Coincidentally, Labor Day comes right around the time of my anniversary/review, so taking the time to look inward is really necessary for me to set my goals for the next year.

I find that through the ups and downs of my performance, there is always room for improvement. But generally, my concern is not geared towards how others perceive my performance or how much money or time I am saving my company, but how I am feeling. My health tends to take a backseat (more like it gets stuffed into the trunk) 364 days out of the year, so Labor Day is a good time for me to create some balance in my life by looking at what types of fitness, activities and nutrition I can engage in to better myself, and as a result, my performance at work. September is the perfect time for this, as summer comes to an end, and school starts up again. Fortunately, I don’t have kids, so I can be selfish and give myself 100% of my attention.

So, to celebrate this great day in American culture, I am leaving the country to get some much needed R&R. Once I return, I will feel refreshed and ready for the uphill climb towards the end of the calendar year. It is my hope that the rest of working Americans can let go of their crazy work ethic for one weekend – or even one day! – to take the time needed to take care of themselves, since most of us forget to do so during our 9 – 5 grind.

Happy Labor Day Weekend America! Try not to work at all too hard šŸ˜‰

betterdoctor-health-quote-3

One thought on “friday vibes

Leave a Reply

