DIY Salsa Fresca

In case you haven’t noticed, the theme for my recent food posts is quick & easy. Since I just wrapped up planning my biggest event of the year (NBD), I was so busy and stressed from work, I barely had time to eat or sleep. To avoid collapsing, snacking on little meals here and there was essential to keeping me fueled. Suja juices, Clif bars, trailmix, carrots and hummus and avocado on toast were my main staples. But, I have been wanting to try something new in my food processor, and chips and salsa sounded like a nice, festive treat.

I probably could have made a much more impressive recipe, had I had the time and energy, but this simple DIY recipe was so good, I scarfed the entire batch!! Not in one sitting though… flaxseed chips & salsa replaced cheese boards when guests came over, and the leftover remnants were the perfect addition to my homemade taco salad (post coming soon!)

Ingredients:

2 large tomatoes (I used the from-the-vine variety from Trader Joe’s)

1/3 red onion, roughly chopped

2 minced cloves of garlic

a handful of fresh cilantro

juice from one lime

salt, pepper and cayenne to taste

1 jalepeno pepper, for an extra kick 😉

Directions:

Throw it all into a food processor and press GO! Boom, easiest snack on the planet.

photo 2[3] photo 3[2]

Leave a Reply

