My So Called Gluten-Free Life

When it comes to health & fitness, I have a case of ADD. My routine changes more than the seasons (in San Diego at least), since my interests are always evolving.

When I was young, my schedule was dominated by team sports and I ate whatever the hell I wanted. In college, I ate shitty dorm food and turned into a gym rat. After college, I moved home where my dad did all the shopping would feed me to no end, and put on about 10 lbs. I moved out, started boxing 4 nights a week, and only had dinner that I would cook myself. Then I got sick of boxing and decided to get another gym membership. I was a regular at LA Fitness for a while, but then got sick of working out around people. I splurged on a yoga membership and began sweating off pounds. I did two juice cleanses and cut dairy out of my diet completely, and lost another 10 lbs. Then I couldn’t afford yoga and decided summer was a good time to live the free workout lifestyle with beach runs and bike rides. But with summer comes BBQ’s and travel, and next thing you know, I am barely working out once a week and put that weight right back on.

Sounds insane, right?

Now that I am having a quarter life crisis getting older, I need to formulate a plan that works for me and stick to it. I no longer have the luxury of changing my mind every 5 seconds without seeing a noticeable shift in the way I look or feel. I have decided that instead of bouncing around from program to program, I need to make up an eclectic schedule so I get a little bit of everything, and make more permanent dietary choices.

I started seeing a chiropractor for the first time in my life a few weeks ago, and lucky for me he is more than just your average bone crusher. He specializes in sports treatment, and has a vast knowledge of nutrition and the body. Long story short, my latest challenge is to cut gluten out of my diet (with the rare exception of one of my grocery store staples, Ezekiel Bread). Luckily for me, I began buying gluten free products a few years ago when I moved in with my lovely, fabulous gluten-free roomie, so this was more of a firm reminder of a lifestyle adjustment I have wanted to make.

I know gluten-free is super trendy right now, but cynics are only those wary of giving up their precious wheat filled carbs. If you really do your homework and try all the different gluten-free products out there, you will find that many of them are surprisingly good. Below is a list of a few swap’s I have made in the past:

  • Spaghetti & meatballs ~ Spaghetti squash with ground turkey sauce (recipe here)
  • Bean, cheese, rice and sour cream burrito from the local taco shop ~ The best effing burrito ever, courtesy of my GF roomie
  • Sandwiches for lunch at work ~ lettuce wraps full of farmer’s market veggies
  • Plain old cookies & milk ~ gluten-free Jo Jo’s from Trader Joe’s with Suja’s Vanilla Cloud

What are some of your favorite gluten-free recipes? Share away!! This is my so called GF life, and I am in it for the long haul!

photo 1[4]

Even Bitzy love GF snacks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

