Design Eye: Scout @ Quarters D, Pt. Loma

This past September, I officially became a published photographer! I am stoked to be able to work with Locale Magazine, and to have had two very different [but equally interesting] projects in my first go around with the OC based publication.

My first published work is available online, here. It was a fabulous Great Gatsby themed pool party at the Sporting Club at the Aventine in La Jolla, and featured great tunes, tasty bites, and a spectacular synchronized swimming performance. Shooting events is something I have done a lot of in my line of work, so this was a nice introduction to Locale and it’s clientele. But what I was most excited for was the expert piece I was assigned, highlighting a local design firm based out of Pt. Loma. I have always been intrigued by this coastal community and have come to learn and love even more since our restaurant Gabardine came to be just last year.

For the two-page spread I was assigned, I got to get an intimate look into Scout @ Quarters D, which has been described as a, “unique mercantile and garden showroom”. For those of you who have read my blog or seen my photo work, you know what a home & garden junkie I am, so I’m sure you can imagine my excitement when I got the call. But what got me the most hyped was the setting I stepped into at the interior design firm’s Pt. Loma HQ.

The various styles blended under this single roof are a refreshing mix of the old and new. If you can, imagine if Anthropologie and Restoration Hardware had a love child. That is the vibe I got when I set foot inside this dreamy showroom. But I guess that is symbolic of the surrounding environment; San Diego has been noted as a melting pot of cultures since the beginning of it’s history, and Pt. Loma is no exception. With a rich history in Portugese and maritime cultures, the design elements used in Scout’s interiors seemingly takes inspiration from both European design as well as life on the sea.

Scout’s founder, Paul Scott Silvera, is a fifth generation San Diegan and has always been fascinated with history, art and design. His effervescent personality and strong sense of brand identity has earned him a well deserved reputation as a visionary in his field, and I was lucky enough to photograph him in his element.

When he first discovered the historical building in Pt. Loma’s Liberty Station, it was love at first site (no pun intended). Although the 4,000 square foot building – set upon a 1 acre garden – had been vacant for almost a decade, Silvera saw the potential this unique location possessed. Originally built in the 1920’s in traditional Spanish colonial style, the building was home to Naval Commanding Officer’s and their families. As you walk through the historic home, it is apparent that Scout @ Quarters D honors, respects and highlights the space’s rich and life-transforming past and the lives of the Commanders who lived here.

But the awakening of this space came in May of 2013 when Silvera decided to expand his brand beyond it’s headquarters in San Francisco, and migrate south for the Summer. The newest addition to the Scout empire features distinctive products, original art and photography, and a “Ready to Write” collection of social stationery that complement the vintage and classic décor “staged” throughout the historic home. From the well manicured entryway to the chaotic textile samples strewn across old bathtubs in the back work room, every detail of Scout @ Quarters D reeks of pure style.

Below are some of the stunning settings I was able to photograph for this feature piece, which will be available in Locale‘s Holiday Issue in the coming months.

Welcome to Scout

Welcome to Scout

Our tour guide, Paul Scott Silvera

Our tour guide, Paul Scott Silvera

DSC_2135

DSC_2168

Living Room

DSC_2178

DSC_2175

Silvera invites us in to his stunning showroom

DSC_2180

DSC_2185

DSC_2173

DSC_2188

Leave a Reply

