Home & Garden: Green Acre San Diego

Gardening was one of my favorite childhood past times and has recently become my favorite Sunday activity. Being able to roll up my sleeves and get dirty is therapeutic, and a nice way to spend time out in the sun among the birds & butterflies. But the biggest reward in gardening is making use of your own bounty and sharing it with others. Right now, I am the proud owner of a beautiful boxed herb garden and a couple new pepper specimens. Being able to use fresh herbs from my garden makes cooking so much more flavorful, and cost effective too!

It is no secret that I frequent the produce stands at local farmer’s markets, and I am always ready to pull over and explore a new garden if I spot one. One day, as I veered off my farmer’s market loop and wandered into the community garden at the elementary school, I remembered that I had a sustainable garden in my own backyard that I had not gone to visit yet.

One of Enlightened Hospitality’s newest restaurant locations is a new concept brewed up by Brian Malarkey and located in a business mecca on the coastal strip connecting La Jolla to Del Mar. Green Acre is the ultimate farm-to-table experience. The chefs pull ingredients from their own sustainable garden and make them the central element in their dishes. The garden supplies two locations within a close proximity of each other. Because they are surrounded by cutting edge bio-tech and bio-med firms, they have to be able to provide quick and nutritious meal options for diners on the go.

I recently went up for an insanely delicious lunch spread consisting of a goddess salad, a brick oven flatbread pizza and a black bean & quinoa burger that was to. die. for. The interior was modern and clean, but the rustic feel of the garden was where I chose to enjoy my lunch. There is just something about being out in the sun among the ingredients you are eating is so wholesome and fulfilling, it really was an inspiring way to spend my lunch break. The contrast between the dark linear buildings and the plush colorful gardens allowed the garden to stand out amongst it’s surroundings. It was really hard to pull myself away from this little oasis in the heart of a corporate desert…

Where the farm meets the table

Where the farm meets the table

DSC_2077

DSC_2105

DSC_2075

DSC_2078

DSC_2081

DSC_2083

DSC_2090

DSC_2089

DSC_2085

DSC_2092

DSC_2102

DSC_2095

DSC_2097

DSC_2100

DSC_2098

DSC_2096

One thought on “Home & Garden: Green Acre San Diego

  1. Pingback: Gardening For your Health #6 | Dishing it out with Clarissa

Leave a Reply

