Seasonal Salad: Romaine, Apple + Quinoa

Sometimes, when I am feeling lazy or like I have a ton of food that isn’t necessarily cohesive, I have to improvise. I try to buy stuff that can mix and match well, so that in these instances, I can count on eating something healthy and substantial even when I haven’t planned it out. Last week I encountered one of those days, where I had a bunch of odd bits and pieces in the fridge, but did not know how I was going to make something of it. Thank goodness for Pinterest, because that little wizard of a site can make something out of nothing.

So here is what I had in the fridge at work on a warm afternoon last week:

+ Romaine lettuce

+ Seaside Market’s spinach quinoa salad

+ Cherry tomatoes

+ Sliced almonds

+ Fuji apples

+ Fat Free Balsamic Vin

It was too hot for soup, so I searched all of these ingredients (and some other odd ones I had around), and found this recipe that was perfect for a fall inspired dish. I mixed them all together and had a yummy fruity/nutty/spiced salad that was full of good-for-you-goodies. I love salads that incorporate sweet and savory, and a variety of textures, so this was right up my alley!

What other types of salads have you whipped up with stuff around the house??

Butter lettuce, apple and quinoa salad

Leave a Reply

