Plenty of fish

Attachment-1-1

In the summertime, I find that I cook fish more than the rest of the year. However this year, sometime in early September – long after the summer wave of tourists had packed up and left – a good friend of mine went on her family fishing trip to come back with over 100 lbs. of fish. She threw a hell of an end of the year cookout, complete with fish tacos, sashimi appetizers and hawaiian ahi poke (my fave food on earth).

After about 20 of us ate until we were stuffed, she sent a few of us home with bags of ahi steaks to enjoy at home. Even though I have a minor obsession with ahi poke, I had never made it at home, so I took this as an opportunity for me to further my skills in the kitchen and try something new.

I will start off by saying that the way I made this definitely needs some practice. But for a first batch, the entire bowl was devoured when I brought this to a dinner party for my roomie’s birthday. There are many different ways to prepare poke, but I wanted to keep it clean. Less is certainly more when it comes to fresh fish.

What you’ll need:

4 sashimi grade ahi steaks

1 batch of green onions

1 large shallot

3 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp sesame oil

1 tbsp sesame seeds

1 tsp chili garlic sauce (small cylindrical bottle with a green top, right next to sriracha)

a dash of sea salt

indented cutting board

super sharp knife

paper towels

What to do:

First, pat dry the steaks to remove excess moisture. Using your supa-sharp knife, dice steaks into 1/2″ cubes. Make sure to cut against the grain, and cut away any fatty looking flesh. Once finished, put all cubes into a glass bowl and set aside (call me nuts, but I prefer to use glass with fish to keep things as clean as possible).

Clean your cutting board, and finely chop your shallot and onions and put in a second bowl (note: if you plan on taking this dish somewhere, make this container your tupperware). Add your seeds and liquid ingredients and mix well. You will then add your ahi cubes and toss gently with your marinade. Can be eaten as is, or is also excellent with cubed avocado, sliced grapefruit, steamed rice or on seaweed.

Now let your taste buds party!!!

pat fish down with paper towels

slice steak into 1/2" strips

cut strips into 1/2" cubes

traditional ahi poke

traditional ahi poke

mixed ingredients to add to ahi

mixed ingredients to add to ahi

One thought on “Plenty of fish

Leave a Reply

