Teriyaki Fried Rice

You know what sucks? Having an intense craving for something unavailable to you. For whatever reason, Encinitas hasn’t been able to sustain a good Chinese Restaurant as long as I have lived. There used to be a great delivery place nearby, but since they went out of business, I’ve been fending for myself.

So one night, I came home with a hankering of the sweet and savory flavors of the Far East and didn’t feel like dealing with waiting to find a place, search the menu, and await the delivery guy for some cold, MSG filled, take out. I decided instead to improvise, and put some random ingredients I had to use (I even made use of the last of some broccoli I had in the fridge – score!). The result was a healthy take on fried rice, without having to go to the store. All you need is rice, some veggies, an egg and Trader Joe’s Soyaki Sauce, and voila- you’ve got Chinese without the fuss!

teriyaki fried rice

 

Leave a Reply

