friday vibes

There are never enough hours in the day. Don’t you sometimes get tired of trying to rearrange your schedule to make time to do certain things there simply aren’t enough hours in the day for to begin with? Lately, I haven’t been able to go on instagram/facebook/google without stumbling across a photo of this great mug emblazoned with the following mantra:

You have the same amount of hours in a day as Beyonce.

And it’s true. Not having enough time is like, the number one first-world-problem to have. Of course it’s a struggle balancing work, passions, hobbies, life, etc. but everyone is in the same boat so there’s no use in making a sob story for yourself over it. If Beyonce can make shit happen [and by “shit happen”, I mean be the best performing artist on the face of the planet, have a loving relationship with one of the coolest rappers alive, take care of her baby, her body and her state of mind, all without an iota of a nervous breakdown] with the same 24-7 ratio we have all been dealt, what is your excuse for not making the time to do the things you want or need to?

For me, finding a balance is a challenge I used to have a love/hate relationship with. When things didn’t go according to my plan, I would become sour, and generally be zero fun to be around. As I mentioned in my post yesterday, learning to let go of things out of my control has allowed me to eliminate a lot of useless anxiety in my life. But what it has also done is allowed me to be much more efficient with my time. Instead of making a detailed plan, I have an ongoing list of things I need to do, and a few general ideas of how I am going to accomplish them, and if something goes wrong and sets my whole day off-schedule, I simply find a new path that gets me where I need to go.

The bottom line is, if it needs to get done, if it is imperative that you complete this task, you will find a way to make the time. Sure, we all get caught up in the day to day hustle and lose sight of our goals sometimes. I have missed a blog post or two due to busy days, long nights, catching the flu, etc. Life happens. There’s no need to be sorry or get hung up on it. Just make the best of it and put your priorities first. Because no matter how tough the journey, no matter how long it takes, or the difficulty in which you achieve it, you will be so happy and relieved you have crossed that thing off your list you’ll probably forget about the challenges you had to overcome anyway.

So spend some time this weekend doing what makes you happy, whatever it takes. If Beyonce can do it, so can you.

make time

Leave a Reply

