back in love with an old flame: classic spring salad

Back when I was a teen and lived to shop, I would go to the mall with my mom and grandma and we would spend the day boutique hopping until we made it to the holy grail – Nordstrom, of course. And the best part wasn’t the endless shoe department, the cosmetic department’s candy shop of makeup, or B.P. where we all got our spaghetti strap tanks. I always looked the most forward to lunch at the cafe. My grandma and I would split the spring salad with candied nuts and it alway made me feel so fancy.

Fast forward to now, and all the ingredients of this magical salad are things I usually always have on hand. It’s light and fresh and is the perfect mix of sweet and salty. It is the perfect springtime side and can go great with grilled chicken or Cardiff Crack 🙂

spring salad

2 handfuls spring or mixed greens

2 tbsp dried cranberries

2 tbsp candied pecans

3 tbsp gorgonzola crumbles (or blue, feta, goat)

a drizzle of raspberry vinaigrette

optional: add 1/2 green apple –> adds extra crunch!

 

 

3 thoughts on “back in love with an old flame: classic spring salad

  1. I make candied nuts occasionally to dress up a salad. The sweet crunch is special! Family times are precious – so nice to have these memories. As you might guess, vinaigrettes are a favorite of mine :).

  2. PS – I did a riff on your very salad ingredients for my annual gourmet dinner this Saturday – will be posting it in a few weeks (have a few other posts to get up before it goes live…)

Leave a Reply

